My Years in Teleperformance: Book 2 – The Escalations Team

Vannah became the first member of team Darrel to become an escalations representative. And it was a good move considering that she represented gay cross dressers and LGBT in general.

Soon thereafter, Mommy Joie asked around for recommendations, and Darrel gamely gave his for me. Mommy Joie listened to my calls, checked my stats, probably did a background check (kidding) and I’d like to think that I passed the standards because I bade goodbye to my production team soon after.

Team Escalations 2010

Team Escalations 2010

Being assigned to learning lab required the same amount of hard work for those assigned in production, plus 100x the patience. But I loved it. I loved the adrenaline rush of running around, helping newbies in distress, taking escalated calls and strutting my stuff, no sitting in the entire shift ala sales lady, and adhering to the 3-second rule.

But don’t look now! Joy- former team mate -became part of team esca a month after I left team Darrel. And Yuki followed suit. We must have made Darrel really proud in those times. =)

Fellow Wave 167 graduate Kristel Ase also became part of the team, us being the 2 surviving wavemates.

I worked closely with Ate Sheryl, but I also overheard Meo providing a feedback about me (masipag, ang tiyaga!), and Ms. Grace even took a commendation man-call for me during my early days as a floorwalker. I could never forget those moments because they led me to find my calling.

I got to handle Glenda’s RTR team while she was away, and got rave feedback from then ACM Ms. Jeck. She wanted me to be her sup, but Mommy said I wasn’t ready. That’s true. I had some issues I had to fix internally before I take on humongous tasks. But I was flattered with the recommendation, Ms. Jeck. And here I got to know soul sister Gelai, who was most supportive when I worked in their cluster.

Team Escalations - Soul Sister Gelai

Team Escalations – Soul Sister Gelai

Not long after, my former ACM, who then was the Learning Lab ACM, Ms. Rio, asked Mommy if I could take over Sir John’s team as he left to become a trainer for a different account. I did so for a time. Wow. 2 in a row. But Mommy held back again. I wasn’t ready, and someone was far more prepared and “ripe for the picking”, than I was. So I gave way for fellow floorwalker Angge. She proved Mommy Joie right. Good job!

And so, I went back to what I loved to do most, lab floorwalker. And on the side, some esca fun. I was excited everyday, I rendered OT when asked, donated blood in exchange of a VL (haha-crazy).

Team Escalations - Yuki, Tin and Me (On queue to donate blood)

Team Escalations – Yuki, Tin and Me (On queue to donate blood)

I made a lot of friends, gained a lot of knowledge, and well, made some realizations along the way. Despite the domestic problem I went through, the many tears I shed inside the office trying to find reason for all that’s happening, I became stronger as a person, and more loving.

Team Escalations with Godmother and brother Patrick.

Team Escalations with Godmother and brother Patrick.

I became an expert in Pinoy Henyo (with game partner Gracie Calderon), got punished by Mommy Joie for a promise I apparently broke, and went places with the entire escalations team.

Team Escalations at Mango Camp, Zambales (Oh God, I remember what was going on while this photo was taken. tsk.)

Team Escalations at Mango Camp, Zambales (Oh God, I remember what was going on while this photo was taken. tsk.)

Until one day, when Ms. Grace announced an opening for the trainer post. Mommy encouraged some escalations rep to apply. I was waiting for her to tap me and say, “anak this is your time”. I didn’t hear it.

Maybe she thought I still rooted for a sup position. I sought her permission, she looked at me like a mom would when her child asks to move out of the house. It was like a turning point. Of course I owe a lot of things to Mommy. And at that time I wasn’t saying goodbye to her, just wanting to step up for greater challenges. I will never forget my time with Mommy. =)

Team Escalations - Mommy Joie and Me

Team Escalations – Mommy Joie and Me

I got interviewed, and well, you know what happened next. Three of us passed and one of us would then be chosen as the next trainer. Kira Dumaraos, Pame Valencia and I then fought for the spot…

I was a floorwalker from January-August 2010, and got officially hired as a trainer on September 15 of the same year.

It was during one of our phone time sessions, when a phone call I had rewarded me with this:

Team Escalations - I Stopped The Madness (Plaque, $500 and a Tarpaulin to boot!)

Team Escalations – I Stopped The Madness (Plaque, $500 and a Tarpaulin to boot!)

In book 3 of this series, I will share my experience as a trainer. Yes, all 3 years of it!

Meanwhile, here’s how I thank them, by posting their photos here. The friendships forged, the lessons learned, the bonding made, will all be with me wherever I go. Especially this:

Team Escalations - Mommy gave me this to remind me to have this at all times, no matter what I've become, and who I'm dealing with.

Team Escalations – Mommy gave me this to remind me to have this at all times, no matter what I’ve become, and who I’m dealing with.

More photos:

Team Escalations at Mommy's place. Videoke and Booze.

Team Escalations at Mommy’s place. Videoke and Booze. (Bench, Joy, Tin, Kristian, and Me)

Team Escalations - Our self-declared SHADES DAY (Kristel, Me, Joy and Ryan)

Team Escalations – Our self-declared SHADES DAY (Kristel, Me, Joy and Ryan)

Team Escalations - Favorite Sport: Eating (Gerry's Grill and Mommy's man-call)

Team Escalations – Favorite Sport: Eating (Gerry’s Grill and Mommy’s man-call)

Team Escalations at Mango Camp Zambales

Team Escalations at Mango Camp Zambales

Team Escalations - El Madero Batangas Goofing around with Joel and the gang

Team Escalations – El Madero Batangas Goofing around with Joel and the gang

Team Escalations - Christmas Party at One San Miguel

Team Escalations – Christmas Party at One San Miguel

Team Escalations - TP Family Day and the Reyna Emperatriz =)

Team Escalations – TP Family Day and the Reina Emperatriz =)

Team Escalations - Paintball-ing at Zambales

Team Escalations – Paintball-ing at Zambales

Team Escalations - El Madero

Team Escalations – El Madero

Team Escalations and CCAT in Batangas

Team Escalations and CCAT in Batangas

Thanks for reading, and for the fond memories =)

Leave a comment